The Publishing Triangle, a New York-based association of gay and lesbian publishing industry professionals, who work to further the publication of books and other written material by gay and lesbian authors or with gay and lesbian themes, has announced its nominees for its 2005 awards.

The group makes awards in six categories, for men and women’s nonfiction, fiction and poetry. The nominees are as follows:

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

David Carter, “Stonewall: The Riots That Sparked the Gay Revolution”(St. Martin’s Press)

David K. Johnson, “The Lavender Scare: The Cold War Persecution of Gays and Lesbians in the Federal Government“(University of Chicago Press)

Graham Robb, “Strangers: Homosexual Love in the Nineteenth Century”(W. W. Norton)

The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

Alexis De Veaux, “Warrior Poet: A Life of Audre Lorde” (W. W. Norton)

Alison Smith, “Name All the Animals” (Scribner)

Evelyn C. White, “Alice Walker: A Life”(W. W. Norton)

The Ferro-Grumley Awards for Fiction: Men

Adam Berlin, “Belmondo Style”(St. Martin’s Press)

Colm Tóibín, “The Master” (Scribner)

Jim Tushinski, “Van Allen’s Ecstasy” (Southern Tier Editions/ Harrington Park Press)

The Ferro-Grumley Award for Fiction: Women

Stacey D’Erasmo, “A Seahorse Year” (Houghton Mifflin)

Emma Donoghue, “Life Mask” (Harcourt)

Heather Lewis, “Notie” (Serpent’s Tail)

The Publishing Triangle Award for Gay Male Poetry

Ron Mohring, “Survivable World”(Word Works)

Carl Phillips, “The Rest of Love” (Farrar Strauss Giroux)

D. A. Powell, “Cocktails” (Graywolf)

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry

Adrienne Rich, “The School Among the Ruins”(W. W. Norton)

Lee Ann Roripaugh, “Year of the Snake”(Southern Illinois University Press)

Maureen Seaton, “Venus Examines Her Breast”(Carnegie Mellon University Press)

The Publishing Triangle Awards will be presented on Tuesday, May 10 at 7 p.m. in the Tishman Auditorium of The New School University, 66 West 12th Street. The event is free and open to the public.

Last year’s female and male winners of the Ferro-Grumly Awards for Fiction— Nina Revoyr’s “Southland” and Trebor Healey’s “Through It Came Bright Colors.”